Message sent from:

Rebekah Iiyambo - CEO


Head of Kaizen Primary School; National Leader in Education; Ofsted Inspector; Trustee of the East London Partnership teaching school.

Laura Hewer - Head Teacher (Earlham)

laura h

Headteacher of Earlham Primary School.



Deborah Strain - Head Teacher (Gainsborough)


Head of Gainsborough Primary School.

Ruth Martin - Director

Former Head Teacher of Royal Docks Secondary School. Vast experience of education in Newham.

Susan Hellman - Director


Director of UK Consultancy and Knowledge Transfer at the UCL Institute of Education. A wealth of experience within the education sector, supporting schools and developing CPD practice for teaching.

Chris Brown - Director

Works for a large Education information service. Previously worked for the National Education Trust, supporting a CPD project for children’s centre leaders. He has also been a volunteer and worked in customer services. Chris holds an MA in Social Policy and Politics from the University of Edinburgh. A local governing body member for Kaizen Primary School.

Mehreen Ara


Roger Hawksworth


Roger has held senior executive/board positions in the oil, water, and aerospace and defence industries.  A former Chairman of Trustees of the Lightbox Gallery in Woking, he is interested in education, training and skills development and is very supportive of GASP's objectives.  He contributes to the development of the charity and to building links with organisations that can offer GASP students work experience and training/apprenticeships.

Julian Robinson - Director


Previously the Chair of Governors at Earlham Primary School, with 27 years experience of Governance in Newham. Julian is Head of Estates at the London School of Economics.

Kishor Parulekar - Director


Kishor has 20 years of banking experience spanning Treasury, corporate banking, Financial control, Trade finance, Debt capital management and Balance sheet management. His roles involved risk management, regulatory project management and Controls.

He has worked extensively as project lead on regulatory projects working closely with FCA and PRA on key areas of treasury risk management.

Carmen Rodney - Director


Worked as one of Her Majesty’s Inspectors (HMI) between 2004 and 2017. She is a qualified teacher.

Vast experience of inspecting mainstream schools, independent schools, including unregistered schools, Initial Teacher Education, special educational needs provision, children’s centres and local authority inspections. Led the annual performance management review of local authorities. The link HMI for several local authorities in London.

Extensive experience of working in the School Improvement Division (SID). Held regional responsibility for schools that were judged satisfactory. This included research, writing papers and leading seminars, ‘Getting to Good’.

Philippa King - Chair of Directors


A Newham resident with 25 years' experience in voluntary sector fundraising and communications, with national, local and international charities.  Currently works as a freelance fundraiser and project manager on local projects, and studies part time.

Skills: Premises & Capital projects, Strategic planning, Data analysis, Communications, Community engagement, Fundraising, Marketing.

Alex Rhys Jones - Member

Former chair of Gainsborough Governing Body. Held a number of roles within Financial Services since 1995. Has been Head of Marketing Communications since 2007.

Tony Oteh - Chair of Members

A long-standing member of both Kaizen and Eleanor Smith schools governing bodies; a member of the safeguarding panel for Newham; an advocate supporting families in need in Newham.

Jessica Chappell - Member

Head Teacher of two Pupil Referral Units; Head of Behaviour Support Service; Head of Teaching Service; Interim Head of Children with Disabilities Service.  All above posts have been in Southwark between 1995 and 2007.

Alex Oma Pius - Member

Founder of IROKO Theatre-in-Education Company; 20 years’ experience providing practical creative arts activities in schools and higher institutions all over England;  Worked and continue to work as a Consultant for renowned British institutions like the BBC, the Royal Shakespeare Company, The Victoria & Albert Museum, Horniman Museum & Gardens, The British Museum and the Museum of London; Member of the Steering Committee of The British Museum Supplementary School Programme; Member of The British Museum’s Community Steering Group for Object Journeys.